International Books for Children Middle Grade Fiction

24 Hours in Nowhere

By Dusti Bowling (Author)

Price$7.95

Format Paperback

X

24 Hours in Nowhere

by Dusti Bowling

$7.95

Paperback

Barnes and Noble Indiebound
ADDITIONAL FORMATS
Hardcover, Jacketed >
OVERVIEW
“Reminiscent of Louis Sachar’s Holes with its quirky characters and unique desert setting, this is a middle-grade read that will easily transport readers somewhere special.” —School Library Journal (Starred review)
 
When you come from Nowhere, can you ever really make it anywhere? Author Dusti Bowling (Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus) returns to the desert to create another gripping story about friendship, hope, and finding the power we all have within ourselves. Now available in paperback!
 
Welcome to Nowhere, Arizona, the least livable town in the United States. For Gus, a bright 13-year-old with dreams of getting out and going to college, life there is made even worse by Bo Taylor, Nowhere’s biggest, baddest bully. When Bo tries to force Gus to eat a dangerously spiny cactus, Rossi Scott, one of the best racers in Nowhere, comes to his rescue—but in return she has to give Bo her prized dirt bike. Determined to buy it back, Gus agrees to go searching for gold in Dead Frenchman Mine, joined by his old friends Jessie Navarro and Matthew Dufort, and Rossi herself. As they race against the clock hunting for treasure, narrowly surviving everything from cave-ins to mountain lions, they bond over shared stories of how hard life in Nowhere is—and they realize this adventure just may be their way out.
PRAISE
Praise for 24 Hours in Nowhere:

“Readers who loved Holes and Dusti Bowling's earlier novel, Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus, will be delighted with 24 Hours in Nowhere, a similarly captivating novel abounding in wordplay, eccentric personalities and an evocative setting.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred review
 
“A blend of taut suspense and laugh-out-loud humor from Bowling . . . proves a winning combination in this 24-hour escapade  . . . With playful elements reminiscent of Richard Peck, this slightly larger-than-life adventure offers plentiful surprises and a lovable antihero.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred review

“The ragtag band of misfits . . . calls to mind the gang from The Goonies, and their underground escapades vacillate among genuinely creepy, hilarious, and thrilling. . . .  Sure to resonate with any kid who’s felt misplaced in their inherited surroundings.” —Booklist

“ . . . fast-paced and filled with adventure, excitement and humor. . . . This is a perfect pick for young readers who love a well-developed story with twists and turns all the way to the very end.”  —Bookpage -

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

Dusti Bowling holds a Bachelor of Psychology and a Master of Education. She is the author of the well-reviewed Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus and Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus. She currently lives in Carefree, AZ, with her husband and three daughters.

Pub Date: 3/3/2020

ISBN: 9781454940166

Price: $7.95 / $10.95 CAN

Format: Paperback

Pages: 288 pages

Trim: 5.125 x 7.625 Inches

Territories: World

Category: Juvenile / Middle Grade Fiction

Age Range: 8 to 12

Publisher: Sterling Children's Books

Carton Quantity: 42