Books for Children Middle Grade Fiction

Love, Love

By Victoria Chang (Author)

Price$8.99

Format Paperback

X

Love, Love

by Victoria Chang

$8.99

Paperback

Barnes and Noble Indiebound
ADDITIONAL FORMATS
Hardcover, Jacketed >
OVERVIEW
Fans of Inside Out and Back Again will love this novel-in-verse about a Chinese-American girl who contends with school bullies, worries about her sister's mysterious illness, and finds strength at the local tennis court.

Frances Chin is an 11-year-old Chinese-American girl who lives in the suburbs of Detroit with her immigrant parents and older sister, Clara. At school Frances contends with bullies and the related loneliness that comes with not quite fitting in. She also feels a different kind of aloneness at home. Her parents are preoccupied with work and worry about Clara, whose hair is inexplicably falling out. While Frances struggles to speak up, she finds strength in her growing tennis skills, and her powerful inner voice is captured through gorgeous imagery and evocative free verse.
PRAISE
Praise for Love, Love

“Thoughtful, heartbreaking, and honest, this is a must-purchase for middle grade shelves.”—School Library Journal (starred)

“An expressive book of poetry that provides a glimpse at life in an immigrant family.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“Love and more love to Victoria Chang for her lyrical and gentle prose poems that, in excavating a deep secret, usher readers beyond shame and into the warmth of understanding.” —Thanhhà Lại, NYT Bestselling author of Inside Out and Back Again
  -

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

The daughter of Chinese immigrants, Victoria Chang was born in Detroit and grew up in West Bloomfield, MI. Her works of poetry have earned such honors as a PEN Center Literary Award, a California Book Award, and a Pushcart Prize. In addition to writing, Victoria teaches in Antioch University’s MFA program. She lives in Southern CA with her family.

Pub Date: 10/12/2021

ISBN: 9781454944102

Price: $8.99 / $13.50 CAN

Format: Paperback

Pages: 224 pages

Trim: 5.12 x 7.62 x 0 Inches

Territories: WENG

Category: Juvenile / Middle Grade Fiction

Age Range: 8 to 12

Publisher: Sterling Children's Books

Carton Quantity: 42